2nd Period English 9

The Tahoma School District uses the SpringBoard English Language Arts curriculum produced by the College Board to meet Common Core State Standards. As part of this curriculum, each student will receive their own copy of a textbook.
The 9th-grade curriculum is broken up into distinct units with 1-2 major assessments each:

Key Texts:

Key Assessments:

Unit 1: Coming of Age in Changing Times

To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

Literary Analysis Essay

Editorial Commentary Speech

Unit 2: Exploring Poetic Voices

Poems by Pablo Neruda, Nikki Giovanni, Langston Hughes, and others

Poetry Project

Unit 3: Power and Propaganda

Various visual, written, and audio texts

Propaganda Project

Unit 4: The Power of Language

Animal Farm, by George Orwell

Literary Analysis Essay

Russian Revolution Essay (w/ WS)

Unit 5: Coming of Age on Stage

Romeo and Juliet, by William Shakespeare


Actor / Director’s Notebook

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.